“We all die. The goal isn’t to live forever, the goal is to create something that will.”

 ~title of this post is a quotation from Chuck Palahniuk~

We are so sorry to report that our good friend, neighbor, writing group member, and the person responsible for the name of the press, David Dutton (One of the Madding Crowd) lost his battle with multiple myeloma recently, and we find ourselves so heartbroken over it. He had a novel he was about to publish, and he had the novel he was serializing on his blog. He had more writing to do, and he certainly wanted to spend more time with his very beloved wife, MD, and the other woman in his life, Molly (the Rottweiler). He was not ready to stop, but “…life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” (Lennon)

For his very beloved family, for his friends, for his friends from his writing group, and certainly for readers of Devil’s Party Press books, David will go on and on and on.

We love you David. And we were enriched beyond description for having known you.

I WAS COMPLICIT… WILL THAT HAPPEN TO YOU?

A reviewer for One of the Madding Crowd had this to say, “The novel went by in such a comfy and seamless manner that, as a reader, I found myself accepting and agreeing with some of the actions of the main character that should have shocked and upset me. But, no, I was complicit right along there with Marc Steadman. How did you do that to me David Dutton? I still don’t know.”

Are you looking for a good summer read?

A GOODREADS reviewer had this to say, “This is an enjoyable read! There are plenty of twists and turns that made me not want it put it down. It was particularly fun to read a book where the setting is in the local area (Delaware). I would recommend this book for readers who enjoy a local, historical fiction book.”

Marc decides that if his words have no power, his actions will. One thing he has been taught well by his upbringing is: protect your way of life first, and dare them to ask you to justify your actions. Who will blink first, Marc, or you?

Get your copy today!

ARE YOU READING CHARLOTTE?

Charlotte is a cosy mystery about an elderly lady who solves murders (much like Miss Marple), and is the first in a series of three books.

Originally published by DPP, Charlotte and her sister volumes are moving to our mystery imprint, Hawkshaw Press. The updated Charlotte will be rereleased in August, followed by Accident in October, but you can read along with Charlotte in the meantime on author Stan Charnofsky’s blog.

And stay tuned to the Hawkshaw blog for updates and events!

HARDBOILED AND LOADED WITH SIN

Welcome to HARDBOILED AND LOADED WITH SIN, the new anthology series by Hawkshaw Press. First issue drops 2022.

Here’s the deets:

Fiction only.

Short stories 1500-7,500 words. If yours is longer send us a query @ publisher at Devil’s Party Press dot com.

12 pt New Times Roman, double-spaced.

Authors over 40 only.

Submit everything through our Duosuma page as a Word or Pages file.

FEE: 10 bucks

PAYMENT: All authors selected for publication receive a one-time royalty of 25 bucks, a copy of the anthology, and our semi-undying love.

See HAWKSHAW to submit.

WOULD YOU LIKE A FREE BOOK?

I am looking for some folks who blog about books, mystery books, who would like to read a book before it is released, blog about it, and get a free copy of the book.The author I want to tell you about is William Crandell.

Bill is a Vietnam Vet in USA who writes historical and hardboiled detective fiction featuring WWII veteran Jack Griffin. Griffin’s books primarily take place in Washington DC, where Bill lived for a time and did extensive research, so his books are very accurate.

For myself, I am a real Raymond Chandler nut, and Bill’s books have the same wit and style.

Bill has won state arts grants for his writing, and just last year his short story “The Last Lootenant Wins His Fucking Medal” won national short story of the year. Bill’s first book in the series, “Let’s Say Jack Kennedy Killed the Girl” is coming out this summer.

You can read excerpts of it (there is only one currently but there will be more) on his blog, and see if you’d be interested in reading the whole book. If this interests you, and you want to help Bill, please shoot me an email through Bill’s blog.

Dianne

ARE YOU A LATE BLOOMER?

Are you a late bloomer? I know I am. Sometimes being a late bloomer can feel like you’ve just spent your prior time being unsuccessful, or focusing on the wrong things. But that’s truly not the case. I remember my favorite of all the primary care docs I’ve ever had told me she had gone to medical school in her late 40s, early 50s, after her children were through college. She was a wonderful and compassionate GP who made house calls! And she was clearly actively engaged in a passion project (parenting) before she became a doctor, so why would anyone judge her as unsuccessful?

I’ve wanted to be a writer since elementary school, when I wrote plays. I began writing poetry in high school, but continued writing plays.